Lincoln Prizes Announced

This year’s Lincoln Prize goes to James Oakes, author of The Radical and the Republican: Frederick
Douglass, Abraham Lincoln, and the Triumph of Antislavery Politics
and Elizabeth Brown Pryor, who wrote Reading the Man: A Portrait of
Robert E. Lee Through His Private Letters
.  Each will receive $20,000.

Congratulations to both.  I have not yet read Oakes’s book, but I have read Pryor and consider her book to be the single best volume on Lee ever published.

1 comment… add one
  • John Maass Feb 22, 2008 @ 11:54

    I agree with you about Pryor’s book. I bet the $20,000 will pay for about 1/2 of her photocopy charges at the VHS!

Now that you've read the post, share your thoughts.