Finalists for 2008 Frederick Douglass Book Prize Announced

The Frederick Douglass Book Prize is given yearly by the Gilder-Lehrman Center for the Study of Slavery, Resistance & Abolition.  The finalists are:

Anthony E. Kaye for Joining Places: Slave Neighborhoods in the Old South (University of North Carolina Press), Kristin Mann for Slavery and the Birth of an African City: Lagos, 1760-1900 (Indiana University Press), Chandra Manning for What this Cruel War was Over: Soldiers, Slavery, and the Civil War (Alfred A. Knopf Publishers), and Stephanie E. Smallwood for Saltwater Slavery: A Middle Passage from Africa to American Diaspora (Harvard University Press).

I’ve only read Manning’s boo, but I’ve got Kaye’s book on my reading list, which is supposed to be quite good. 

0 comments… add one

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *